Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

When do seats open up for free upgrades/aisle seats?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

When do seats open up for free upgrades/aisle seats?

Search this Thread

Old Jun 22, 2017, 12:32 pm
Original Poster

Question When do seats open up for free upgrades/aisle seats?

I'm taking an international flight on Delta to Amsterdam and back. When I booked, all that was available were middle seats. Just to get an aisle seat, I have to pay another $69 (and then to get one of the nicer seats with more leg room, it's $129).

All I want is an aisle seat -- do they open up for free at some point when people don't buy them? When? How can I make sure I am first? I don't have any status I can lean on to try to earn upgrades -- this is my first time flying Delta.

I just think paying another $70 on top of an already $1700 itinerary is sort of ridiculous, and I just lost my job yesterday so I'd rather save my money. It's 10 hours though, so comfort is going to matter.

Thanks!

EDIT: My trip is six days away. I'm looking right now and I see 15 Comfort+ seats and 40+ Preferred seats that are aisle or window, but they all cost money. I currently have one of the middle seats in the four-seat middle row. The plane is an Airbus A330.

Months later edit: I got to the airport early and they upgraded me to an aisle seat for free.

Last edited by MiniMuffin; Apr 19, 2018 at 11:41 pm
Old Jun 22, 2017, 1:40 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
When is your trip and how full is the seat map? If you're seeing open C+ aisle seats, I suspect that you're traveling far in the future.

I think the odds of someone without status getting an aisle seat for free on a full flight is very small, although you can always get lucky at the gate.